Irene’s cookbook – Coffee and Walnut cake

When my mum died, Dad gave me a folder full of recipes that she had kept.

Some of her notes are now showing signs of damage and age so I thought I would start putting her recipes online to refer to and perhaps someone might want to have a go at them too and let me know how they get on.

My mum was a great cook both a family one and as a paid cook for a variety of organisations not to forget her famous baking for church and community events.

You will have to do conversions as she worked in ounces and I am not going to change the language she used.

Coffee and Walnut cake

4 oz marg.

4 oz caster sugar

4 oz SR flour

2 eggs beaten

5 tbsp. v.strong coffee

2 oz chopped walnuts

4 oz icing sugar

12 walnut halves

Cream marg and sugar and beaten egg, then 2 tbsp. coffee.

Beat well.  Add chopped walnuts.

Fold in flour.

Use 7 ins square tine.

Bake 30-35 minutes mins – gas 4

Mix I sugar with remaining coffee.  Spread over cake.

Mark into 12 pieces.

Put half walnut on each.

One thought on “Irene’s cookbook – Coffee and Walnut cake

What Do You Think and Feel? Comments Make My Day!