Have You Heard The News? – I Have A New and Exciting Role

Do you know that feeling when you have an exciting announcement to make but can’t just yet?

I have had some news to share for about 2 weeks I suppose.  However, I had to keep mum until everything was confirmed.

I am delighted to say that I am joining the Britmums team.  For those who do not know (and I know most of you will) Britmums is the original UK network for parents who blog.  It has thousands of members all of whom are parents and who blog about a very diverse range of topics.  Parenting for sure but also books, food, businesss, mental health and a whole lot more besides.

I joined Britmums a long time after starting to blog in 2009.  I did not know blogging networks existed.  When I asked which ones did exist, most people pointed me towards Britmums.  At that point, Netmums, Mumsnet and Love All Blogs blogger networks were still to be invented.

I hope I will be able to contribute to the wonderful Britmums team in many ways but, for now, I will focus on looking at how charities and bloggers can link up to make a difference and a better world.

If you are a member of Britmums, I urge you to join the brand new “Charity Connections – Blogging It Forward” group.  If you are not yet a member and you are a parent who blogs, you are missing out so why not sign up for FREE right now.  You will find a supportive community full of information, tips and friendship.  They have a fun event coming up in June too.

Lots of bloggers are involved in charities already as service users, volunteers, trustees or donors.  Some blog about it.  Some don’t.  Britmums believe as I do that there is so much potential for good things to happen if there are more links between good causes and the blogging community.

It is my first day in post and already there are some really interesting discussions starting over on the new group.  Thanks to all those who joined today and here’s to seeing many more participating.  Whether you are already involved in good causes or would just like to find out more, every parent blogger is welcome. You won’t be asked to do anything that you don’t want to so you have nothing to lose by joining the group.

The new group will also feature charities of the day on specific issues.  For example, today we featured the Joe Bingley Memorial Foundation and asked members to name other organisations that help when mums are experiencing or emerging from post-natal depression.

I will also be doing a regular round -up highlighting blog posts about bloggers’ involvement in good causes.  So if you are volunteering, fundraising, donating or want to tell us about a fantastic service, do get in touch.  My email is kateonthinice@gmail.com or you can contact me via the group on Britmums.

I hope to help bloggers who want to contribute on a particular issue or to help a specific community to find an appropriate charity to hook up with.  One that meets their aspirations and circumstances so it is a win-win situation.

OK, if you are a parent who blogs, please visit http://www.britmums.com and get involved in the Charity Connections – Blogging It Forward group.

If you are a charity or good cause looking to promote what you do, get in touch and tell us how you would like to work with the blogging community.

Will you join me in Blogging It Forward?

Here’s to an exciting journey ahead.

Before I go, I would like to thank Britmums and Susanna in particular for asking me to take on this role.  I feel like it  has given me a real boost and I hope to do it justice.  How can I put it?  Britmums are open to working with new people and considering new ideas.  That makes them very human, approachable and rather wonderful.  I also want to mention the #groovymums, the supportive team of mums who take part in my weekly blog hop and have really made me feel I might just be up to more than I think I am.

Ready, steady – get blogging it forward!

 

11 thoughts on “Have You Heard The News? – I Have A New and Exciting Role

  1. Will pop ‘back’ over up britmums and take a look, maybe we can link up for Africa. I have experience of voluntary work over here. Don’t forget your roots though Kate….lol don’t go changing on us 🙂

  2. Pingback: Why not Use Chinese New Year As A Reason To Make A Fresh Start? | Kate on Thin Ice And Groovy Mums

  3. Pingback: Am I Getting My Groove Back This Week? | Kate on Thin Ice And Groovy Mums

  4. Pingback: Getting Grooving? | mrsshortiesmind

What Do You Think and Feel? Comments Make My Day!